Is Whey Protein Gluten and Lactose Free?

By HumanWindow
Updated on 22 July 2020

Whey Protein powders are one of the most popular gym supplements out there. But are they Gluten and Lactose free?

If you’re looking for the answer to those questions, then you’ve landed on the right page.

In this article, we’re going to take a close look at whether Whey Protein is Gluten and Lactose Free or not.

If you’re looking for a quick answer to both questions: Pure Whey Protein IS Gluten Free, although some commercially-available supplements may contain some Gluten. Whey Protein is NOT Lactose Free, as it contains Lactose from Cow’s Milk.

Protein supplements are incredibly popular, as they are a convenient and simple way to boost your protein intake.

However, they are not suitable for everybody. Sometimes, choosing a plant-based Vegan protein powder would be more suitable.

Editor's note: The content on this website is meant to be informative in nature, but it should not be taken as medical advice. Our articles and the products featured in them are not intended for use as diagnosis, prevention, and/or treatment of health problems. Always speak with a certified medical professional before making any changes to your lifestyle, diet, exercise routine, and/or taking any supplements.

So, with the introductions out of the way, let’s start taking a close look at Whey Protein to see where it

What is Whey Protein?

If you’ve landed on this article, then the chances are you already know all about Whey Protein, but let’s cover the basics quickly anyway.

As we’ve already mentioned, protein supplements are probably the most popular type of fitness supplement.

Editor's note: Any health claims about the ingredients mentioned in this article are listed as authorised on the EU Register at the time of publishing. Additionally, you should carefully check the ingredients information shown on the official website of any product you're considering purchasing, as formulas may change from time to time and therefore may differ from what's shown on this page.

Lots of people choose to take them alongside a healthy lifestyle as a time-effective and simple way to consume add more protein to their diets.

If you’re looking to build muscle, then getting enough protein in your diet is important.

In case you didn’t already know, protein contributes to the growth and maintenance of muscle mass. It is widely regarded as one of the main ‘building blocks’ of muscle – your body needs it to be able to build new muscle.

There are many different types of protein supplements, but Whey Protein is one of the most popular, mainly because of its impressive amino acid profile and affordability.

Whey protein is a mixture of proteins isolated from Whey, which is the liquid part of Cow’s Milk that separates during Cheese production.

After being separated during Cheese production, Whey goes through a number of processing steps to become what is commonly referred to as Whey Protein or Whey Protein powder.

Once it is in powder form, it is usually added to shakes, protein bars and other similar products.

Generally speaking, most people choose to consume their protein supplements after training.

That makes sense, because it’s a good idea to refuel your body with the protein it needs to help build more muscle after training.

Lots of commercially-available Whey Protein powders are sweetened and flavored. You’ll often find the leading brands offering products in flavors such as Vanilla, Chocolate and Banana.

So, now that we’ve taken a closer look at Whey Protein in general, let’s find out whether it’s gluten free or not.

Plant based protein vs Whey

(Photo: Adobe Stock)

Is Whey Protein Gluten Free?

In case you didn’t already know, Gluten is a general name for the proteins found in wheat.

Some people choose to avoid Gluten in their diet because they have Celiac disease, but some also simply do it out of choice.

So what about Whey Protein? The simple answer is yes, Whey Protein is Gluten Free.

As we have already explained above, Whey Protein is a Dairy Product and is completely gluten free in its pure form.

That being said, not ALL Whey Protein supplements are labelled as Gluten Free.

That’s because some commercially-available Whey Protein powders do contain some traces of Gluten.

So, although pure Whey Protein is completely gluten free, you should always carefully check the label of the supplement you’re thinking of trying first to make sure that it is actually completely gluten free.

Now, let’s take a look to see whether Whey Protein is Lactose Free.

Protein supplement powder

(Photo: Adobe Stock)

Is Whey Protein Lactose Free?

If you’re Lactose intolerant, then it can be a bit of pain finding foods and drinks that are suitable for you. We feel your pain.

Asking whether Whey Protein is Lactose Free or not is a pretty common question.

The short answer is no, Whey Protein Powder is not Lactose Free, because it contains Lactose from Cow’s Milk.

For this reason, if you are Lactose intolerant, we do not recommend taking a Whey Protein supplement.

If you are in doubt about whether your protein supplement is suitable for you or not, then we always recommend carefully checking the label before trying it for the first time.

If you are Lactose intolerant or are looking to stay away from Dairy products for another reason, then choosing a Vegan plant-based protein supplement may be a better idea for you.

So, to wrap things up, Whey Protein Powder is not Lactose Free and therefore it is not suitable for people with a Lactose intolerance.

Anything Else to Consider?

Supplements can be a great way to boost your intake of certain nutrients as part of a balanced and healthy diet.

However, you shouldn’t think of supplements as a ‘magic pill’ to solve your fitness problems.

Protein supplements can help to support your goals as you bid to get the most out of your time spent in the gym and following a healthy diet.

But they will not work miracles on their own.

We always strongly recommend that you get your basic lifestyle choices on point before thinking about taking any supplements.

That means making sure that you’re sticking to a healthy diet, exercising regularly and getting plenty of rest.

Generally speaking, if you’re sticking to a good balanced diet of healthy whole foods, then you probably don’t need to take any supplements. But they can be a useful tool nonetheless.

Supplements are a great way to up your intake of certain nutrients such as protein, but they are not a substitute for a healthy and balanced lifestyle.

We also strongly recommend that you speak to a certified medical professional before thinking about taking any new supplement for the first time.

Conclusion – Our Final Thoughts

So, that brings us to the end of our look at Whey Protein and whether it is Gluten and Lactose Free or not.

We’ve walked you through exactly what Whey Protein is and why it’s a popular supplement for gym goers who are looking to build muscle.

To summarize, Whey Protein in its pure form is Gluten Free. However, some commercially-available protein supplements may contain traces of Gluten, so you should always carefully check the label of the supplement you’re considering.

Whey Protein is not Lactose Free, as it contains Lactose from Cow’s Milk. This means that Whey Protein Powders are not suitable for you if you’re Lactose intolerant or if you avoid dairy products.

We hope that you found this guide useful. Be sure to head over the Supplements section of the site for more tips and tricks to help you get the most out of your training and diet.

Does Lemon or Lime Water break a fast? (Photo: Adobe Stock)
Does Lemon or Lime Water Break Your Fast?
Dr Gabor Mate
Dr Gabor Maté on Childhood Trauma, The Real Cause of Anxiety and Our ‘Insane’ Culture
Does Pre Workout Break Fast?
Does A Pre Workout Break Your Fast?
Nice vs Kind
Being Nice vs Kind – What’s The Difference? (8 Experts Explain)
What Supplements Does The Rock Use?
What Supplements Does ‘The Rock’ Dwayne Johnson Use?